7th And 8th Degree Black Belts Honored


Eight of the art’s greatest living masters were honored by the IBJJF with promotions to some of the most senior ranks available.

Jiu-jitsu differs from other martial arts in that ranks are awarded purely by time served – once achieving the black belt a practitioner will receive degrees (signified by stripes) on his belt.

The color of the belt will change once a black belt receives seventh degree, at which point they become a red and black belt master (also known as a “coral” belt). Eighth degree is a red and white belt.

The list of those promoted is as follows:

7th degree red and black belt

Jose Henrique Teixeira

Rilion Gracie

Marcio Simas

8th degree red and white belt

Marcio Stambowsky

Romero ‘Jacare’ Cavalcanti

Sergio Penha

Mauricio Gomes

It must be noted it takes 31 years upon receiving the black belt to achieve seventh degree and 38 years to reach eighth degree.

Last modified: August 31, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *